CO ISOC > Blog > ICANN > 2011 Nominating Committee Opens Up

2011 Nominating Committee Opens Up

ICANN’s 2011 Nominating Committee (NomCom) has taken the words of the ATRT to heart, and will communicate more often and openly with the global Internet community. As we move through our nine-month recruitment and selection process, this year’s NomCom will give regular updates and invite the community’s comments on the process via our new blog.

Each NomCom has tried new things to improve and refine how it works. This year’s committee will be more transparent about how we work, but maintain the absolute confidentiality of the people who apply through this process. The blog will include factual updates about NomCom’s process and pieces from NomCom members on topics like:

  • Who’s who on the NomCom ?
  • Calendar of outreach events ?
  • What to expect when you apply for a leadership position
  • NomCom myths and legends de-bunked
  • And lots more!

The blog is just ‘semi-official’; it is simply the views of committee members. For authoritative information and to apply for leadership positions, readers will need to go to our official page.

Every year, the NomCom selects people for leadership positions throughout ICANN. We met for the first time on 10-11 December, in Cartagena, Colombia. This meeting defined the processes and procedures we will use during the 2011 cycle. This year’s committee will select people for the following roles:

  • Three members of the At-Large Advisory Committee (one person each for Africa, Asia/Australia/Pacific, and Latin America/Caribbean)
  • Two members of the Council of the Generic Names Supporting Organization (GNSO)
  • One member of the Council of the Country-Code Names Supporting Organization (ccNSO)
  • Two Directors of the Board

The recruitment process starts within the next few days and applications will soon open on the NomCom page ( After the submission deadline, NomCom will assess the statements of interest and other information provided by applicants. In June 2011, NomCom will meet in person to make its decisions. The people selected will take their seats at the conclusion of the ICANN Annual Meeting, at the end of 2011.

The Nominating Committee is made up of people appointed from the different parts of ICANN and the broader community:

Adam Peake – Chair
Jacqueline Morris – Associate Chair
Wolfgang Kleinwaechter – Advisor
Joao Damas – RSSAC
Vanda Scartezini – SSAC
Yaovi Atohoun – ALAC, Africa
Eduardo Diaz – ALAC, North America
Maria Farrell – Non Commercial Users Constituency
Rob Hall – Registrars Stakeholder Group
Tony Holmes – ISP Constituency
Yrjö Länsipuro – ALAC, Europe
Chris Martin – Commercial and Business Users Constituency (Large)
Michael Palage – Registries Stakeholder Group
Mark Partridge – Intellectual Property Constituency
Mike Roberts – Commercial and Business Users Constituency (Small)
Jose Ovidio Salgueiro – ALAC, Latin America/Caribbean
Giovanni Seppia – ccNSO
Henk Uijterwaal – IAB for IETF
V.C. Vivekanandan – ALAC, Asia/Australia/Pacific
Wilfried Woeber – Address Supporting Organization Advisory Committee
Phil Davidson – Technical Liaison Group

These people have committed to finding the absolute best leadership candidates for ICANN, but we need your help. Please use your networks to suggest or encourage people to apply!

For more information about the 2011 NomCom’s timelines, please check our official website at (It will be updated shortly)

And to read our blog and give us feedback, please visit

December 15th, 2010 by | Posted in ICANN | Tags: , |

Comments are closed.